The Berkshire Country Club is an experience of unforgettable anticipation - an anticipation of excellence that is always rewarded and fulfilled. It is a place of unparalleled escape. It is a place where "breathtaking" and "stunning" apply to the campus, the clubhouse, the experience and the lifestyle. You have, indeed, arrived. This is where you belong.
Founded in 1899, member-owned and governed, and stepped in tradition, the Berkshire Country Club provides a masterful blend of leisure, athletics and elegance. It is a country club lifestyle the way it was meant to be enjoyed - with a proud legacy of exceptional service, opportunity and the benefits only available at such a grand private club. Smart. Sophisticated. Surrounded by casual elegance.
1897 - The first
golf club in Reading was formed, first being called the Berkshire Golf Club.
The Berkshire Country Club of Reading, PA was
incorporated as a non-profit organization.
The Berkshire Country Club opened its doors on
May 31, 1903 on what was originally the J. Howard Jacobs farm. The golf course
opened several weeks later because of extremely wet and then very dry weather.
The original course was 3,000 yard 9-hole course.
purchased 18 acres of land located between the clubhouse and Bernville Road.
World renowned golf architect Willie Park Jr. was hired to lay out an 18-hole
golf course. The Park plan was accepted with the understanding that only 14
holes could be placed on the existing club property and additional acreage
would be needed. According to club minutes Park's bill was $196.75.
The club purchased 26 acres of land to the
west of Bernville road. The additional holes were constructed and plans were made
to open all 18 on September 1, 1922. However the 4 holes were not ready and the
entire 18-holes were finally opened in the Spring of 1923.
In September of 1929 the club hosted the first
Berks County Amateur Championship which was won by club member Hawley Quier.
The first Reading Open was held at the club.
The Reading Open drew the top professional men golfers in the US as well as the
best-known international stars of the day. Over the next three years names such
as Jimmy Demaret, Ben Hogan and Sam Snead graded our course.
The Women's Eastern Open came to the
The Jack Nicklaus golf exhibition to benefit
the Easter Seals Society came to the Berkshire.
The tunnel to cross Route 183 was opened!
The Pool House was totally refurbished. New
Men's and Women's locker room areas and pro shop construction was begun.
3 Million Dollar club renovation was completed
with the addition of the new 1899 Bar Room and Patio.